From the Dean’s desk

Welcome to the Faculty of Education and I sincerely hope that you will enjoy your academic journey with us.  Postgraduate students, we are excited that you want to further your studies in our faculty. The step you are taking aptly confirms what Dr Nelson Rholihlahla Mandela said that “After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb”.  To first-year students and to everyone registered for the Postgraduate Certificate in Education, this is where your professional journey begins. We are truly excited that you want to become teachers and that you have chosen the University of Zululand as the institution where you will learn all the ins and outs of education in your preferred specializations.


The faculty has four academic departments (Early Childhood Education, Educational Foundations, Languages & Social Sciences, and Mathematics, Science & Technology Education) which offer six qualifications, namely;

  1. Bachelor of Education (B. Ed),  
  2. Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE),
  3. Bachelor of Education Honours (B. Ed. Hons),
  4. Master of Education (M. Ed),
  5. Doctor of Education (D. Ed), and,
  6. Doctor of Philosophy/ (PhD).  


If you are registered for the B. Ed or the PGCE, you will be expected to take part in all teaching practice sessions. During school visits, learn as much as you can from your lecturers as well as from school-based mentors. Overall, the faculty is committed to providing you with positive learning experiences that will equip you to become great teachers who can contribute to the much-needed transformation in our country.  


On behalf of the Faculty of Education, I wish you success in your studies.      

Back to Top